Human Rights Commission

Members of the Chaska Human Rights Commission

Meeting Information

The Chaska Human Rights Commission typically meets at 6:30 p.m. on the fourth Thursday of the month in the City Hall Council Chambers. The Council Chambers are located on the second floor of Chaska City Hall (1 City Hall Plaza).

Members of the public can join the Human Rights Commission meetings in-person in the Council Chambers or virtually on Zoom. Zoom meeting details are provided in the Meeting Details section below.

Meeting Details

About the Commission

The purpose of the commission is to secure for all citizens, through education and prevention, equal opportunities for employment, housing, public information, public services, education, fair treatment, and full participation in affairs of the community.

The commission’s mission is to proactively partner with government, business, educators, religious, service, and other organizations to promote a community of harmony and respect for the rights and dignity of all.


  • Sarah Carlson - Chairperson
  • Celi Haga - Vice Chairperson
  • Martin Hubbard
  • Donta´ Hughes
  • Hanne Sandison
  • Seth Spreadbury
  • Jennifer Welvaert
  • Sienna White - Youth Representative

Member Term Regulations

Members of the Human Rights Commission are appointed for 3-year terms, eligible for up to 3 terms for a maximum of 9 years. Terms are staggered. By ordinance, appointments are to be made at the first Council meeting in January of each year. Each member is expected to attend at least 1 meeting per month in the evenings, and devote approximately 5 hours per month to commission business outside of the meetings.

Members will work in small groups on specific projects and are expected to have an interest in human rights issues as they relate to such topics as housing, employment, public accommodations, education, and public services.